List of ICC Men's Champions Trophy Winners

The World Cup is the most important and exciting cricket tournament, with the ICC Men's Champions Trophy coming in second. The world's top teams gather for this biennial competition, which was founded in 1998, to fight for championships. 

The Champions Trophy has seen many exciting games and memorable occasions over the years. A thorough list of winners from 1998 to 2025 is provided below, along with a thorough analysis of each tournament's highlights.

icc men's champions trophy winners
icc men's champions trophy winners

List of ICC Men's Champions Trophy Winners 1998 to 2025

1998 - South Africa

The Champions Trophy, a competition that replaced the original ICC Knockout, was introduced in Dhaka, Bangladesh. In the end, South Africa triumphed, beating the West Indies. The Proteas' hegemony in ODI cricket began with this competition.

2000 - New Zealand

Kenya hosted the 2000 Champions Trophy, where New Zealand won their first significant ICC championship. Thanks to a match-winning performance by Chris Cairns, the Kiwis overcame India in a closely fought final.

2002 - India and Sri Lanka (Joint Winners)

The 2002 edition, which took place in Sri Lanka, came to an odd finish. Rain caused the India vs. Sri Lanka match to be abandoned twice, with both sides emerging as joint winners. In the tournament's history, this is still the only time that there have been joint winners.

2004 - West Indies

The West Indies won the Champions Trophy in 2004, which was held in England. In an exciting final at The Oval, they overcame England, with Ian Bradshaw and Courtney Browne leading their side to victory in a close chase.

2006 - Australia

India was the 2006 edition host nation. Australia defeated the West Indies in the final to win their first Champions Trophy, captained by Ricky Ponting. This triumph strengthened Australia position as the dominant nation in cricket worldwide.

2009 - Australia

In the 2009 Champions Trophy, which was held in South Africa, Australia successfully defended their championship. They were the first team to win the Champions Trophy consecutively when they defeated New Zealand in the championship game.

2013 - India

The Champions Trophy made a reappearance in 2013, under the auspices of England. India triumphed against England in the rain-affected final at Edgbaston. India won the Champions Trophy for the second time with this triumph.

2017 - Pakistan

In the 2017 Champions Trophy, which was also hosted in England, Pakistan incredible victory was documented. They triumphed over fierce rivals India in an unforgettable final at The Oval, thanks in large part to the contributions of Mohammad Amir and Fakhar Zaman.

2025 - TBA (Pakistan)

Pakistan is set to host the ICC Champions Trophy in 2025. The competition is currently scheduled to begin in a few months, and cricket fans everywhere are anticipating it with great anticipation. Teams competing for the coveted prize should make for an intense competition.

Highlights and Memorable Moments

Over the years, cricket fans have experienced many unforgettable moments thanks to the ICC Men Champions Trophy. Here are some notable moments from the competition's past:


1998: In the first edition, South Africa won the title due to Jacques Kallis all-around talent.

2000: To this day, one of the most memorable innings in New Zealand cricket history is Chris Cairns' valiant century in the championship match against India.

2004: Courtney Browne and Ian Bradshaw, the West Indies' lower-order combination, completely changed the course of the match against England.

2013: India won the competition, and Shikhar Dhawan outstanding form with the bat earned him the Player of the Series award.

2017: Cricket legend is forever changed with Pakistan convincing triumph against India in the championship match, which was highlighted by a century from Fakhar Zaman and a blazing bowling display from Mohammad Amir.

Impact and Legacy

The ODI cricket scene has been greatly influenced by the ICC Men Champions Trophy. Teams now have a stage on which to demonstrate their abilities and engage in elite competition. Winning the Champions Trophy has been a career-defining accomplishment for a lot of players.


Additionally, the competition has bred fierce rivalries and created some of the most exciting cricket matches ever. High stakes and thrilling cricket throughout are guaranteed by the tournament's compact design, which features elite teams playing in a knockout format.

Looking Ahead: The 2025 Edition

Anticipation is growing among cricket fans for the 2025 ICC Men Champions Trophy in Pakistan. The tournament will be hosted for the first time by Pakistan, a country known for its devoted cricket fans and extensive cricketing history. The greatest players and teams are anticipated to compete in the event, ensuring an exciting game of cricket.


Pakistan cricket also has a lot to gain from the forthcoming tournament, which will demonstrate the country capacity to host important international competitions. Pakistan wants to present a Champions Trophy that is remembered, with cutting-edge facilities and a friendly welcome for visiting teams.

There is a long history of exciting games, memorable performances, and important cricket milestones associated with the ICC Men Champions Trophy. From Pakistan incredible victory in 2017 to South Africa victory in 1998, the tournament has given cricket fans memories to treasure. 

Excitement and expectation are high as we anticipate the 2025 Champions Trophy in Pakistan, which promises to be another outstanding cricketing chapter in the legendary history of the trophy.

Post a Comment


welcome bonus
WhatsApp Now to Get ID